The golden age of Nostalgia?

I don’t that I’d been through the doors since the late 1980s. If I recall I was looking for a plain white tee in the era of day-glo, heat sensitive ones. Otherwise, I had no reason to be in there. Even a quarter of a century ago, the place seemed ancient & more than a little scary. That being said, when Jackson’s of Reading closed on Xmas Eve, it left a department size hole in my life.

At almost 47, I am beginning to panic a little. Why? Because I’ve started to worry that I’m forgetting my past. Not the big stuff, not my schooldays (thanks facebook group) but the trivial things. Where was my homeward bound bus stop in Broad Street before it they pedestrianized it? How was the road laid out by the park before the roundabout was put in? And how many flavours of ice cream did Dayville’s offer : 31 or 32?

Of course, this will mean very little to most of you – and why should it? But are you finding yourself going through the same mental gymnastics?

Sometimes it’s for the best. A lot of this stuff you don’t need to remember – but if you do, then seek out your local library or museum. Go online. Ask around your old friends. The past is a great place to visit but you wouldn’t want to live there.

 

Now go and find out about Dayville’s for me!

About simonwebsterwise

Pretend Canadian. Doter on women. Professional sports spectator. Askew view on the world.

Leave a Reply

